Mayo Genealogy Tours

The stunning Ashford Castle County Mayo used in the making of John Fords classic “The Quiet Man”

County Mayo (“Plain of the yew trees”) is a county in the western side of Ireland. It is part of the province of Connacht and is named after the village of Mayo, now generally known as Mayo Abbey. Mayo County Council is the local authority for the county. The population of the county was 130,638 at the 2011 census.The boundaries of the county, which was formed in 1585, reflect the Mac William Íochtar lordship at that time.

Family Dynasties 1500-1600 AD

•          Irish – O’malley,O’Hara ,O’Dowd
•          Norman- Burke,Fitzstephen
•          Scottish -None
•          Viking – None

County Mayo- Things to do and may be possible to include within your Ancestral Townland Experience Tour

•          The Great Western Greenway (Westport)
•          Atlantic Drive on Achill Island (Westport)
•          Keem Bay (Achill Island)
•          Croagh Patrick
•          Michael Davitt Museum (Foxford)
•          The Ceide Fields
•          The Wild Atlantic way
•          National Museum of Ireland – Country Life (Castlebar)
•         Ashford Castle Cong
•         National Shrine of Our Lady of Knock (Knock)
•         Royal Abbey of Cong (Cong)