Wicklow Genealogy Tours

Wicklow Genealogy Tours

My Ireland Heritage find your Ancestors and exact house location from the 1700’s to the late 1800’s, and all available records in Ireland. We are an Irish family business dedicated to assisting you in your Irish Genealogy research for your roots and records of your family history of past generations in Wicklow, as well as providing you with a once in a lifetime Irish Genealogy tour experience to visit your families original family house and Walk in the Footsteps of your Irish Ancestors.

Sean and the Team at My Ireland Heritage are a Government certified & approved Genealogy & Touring Company, and will personally guide you on the journey into your Irish ancestry to any County in Ireland.

Many companies are genealogy research only, many companies are touring companies only, we at My Ireland Family Heritage are proud to be able to encompass your research and tour together enabling us to work with you throughout the process to customize your tour with you and for you. To achieve a full genealogy tour experience consider adding one of our one-day historical tours.

Wicklow Genealogy
Iconic Glenadalough in the Wicklow Mountains

Finding the Correct Church

Having found the Townland we must now find not just the Civil Parish identified on your records but the correct Church. On your records you may see a Civil Parish this most likely is not the Church your Family used for Marriage/Baptisms and weekly use.

An Example

As an example take County Meath there are 146 Civil Parishes in County Meath. Your Families Church may be Culmullin it is bordered by 7 different Parishes but it is also in the Parish of Dunshaughlin. Your records may say Parish of Dunshaughlin but your Ancestors Parish and church they used for important events is actually 10 Miles away at Cullmullin. To Compound the issue there are 5 Baronies in Meath with the word Rath and 47 Townlands with the word Rath included. 

Finding the correct Graveyard

Finding the correct Graveyard for your family for the Townland. Again an example a Parish like Dunshaughlin may have 10 Graveyards in Fact the Parish of Cullmullin above which is in the Civil Parish off Dunshaughlin has 3 Graveyards alone one for 1700 one for 1800s and a Modern graveyard.

Again this is our responsibility to find the Correct Graveyard for your Church and your families Townland.

Finding Relatives and Neighbours of your Family

At My Ireland Heritage our Data Base allows us to find the exact Location of your Families house in the 1800s. Once we travel her on your Behalf we will know very quickly if the family are still in the vicinity. In fact even if they are not we have the knowledge to know if the neighbors who may be there for 200 years are also still in the Vicinity.

  • Wicklow has 7 baronies
  • Wicklow has 59 Civil Parishes
  • Wicklow has 81 Electoral Divisions
  • Wicklow has 1354 Townlands
  • Wicklow has 60 sub townlands

County Wicklow the second last of the traditional 32 counties to be formed, as late as 1606, it is part of the Mid-East Region and is also located in the province of Leinster. It is named after the town of Wicklow, which derives from the Old Norse name Víkingaló, which means “Vikings’ Meadow” and the population of the county is 142,332.

Traditionally known as the Garden of Ireland, the Wicklow Mountains, Dublin Mountains and Black Stairs make up the longest chain of Mountains in Ireland. Famously the last Wolf was shot at Mount Leinster in 1786.

County Wicklow was the last of the traditional counties of Ireland to be shirred in 1606 from land previously part of counties Dublin and Carlow. Often under the Power of the O’Byrnes clan. The Military Road, stretching from Rathfarnham to Aghavannagh crosses the mountains, north to south, was built by the British Army to assist them in defeating the rebels still active in the Wicklow Mountains following the failed 1798 rebellion. The ancient monastery of Glendalough is located in County Wicklow along with the wonderful Powers court domain. (see our Wicklow Way Tour)

The Irish Celtic Tribes By Ptolemy 1st Century

  • County Wicklow – The Manapioi

Family Dynasties 1500-1600 AD

•          Irish – O’Byrne, O’Toole, Redmond, Kavanagh
•          Norman- Fitzgerald, Butler
•          Scottish -None
•          Viking – None

County Wicklow- Things to do and may be possible to include within your Ancestral Townland Experience Tour

·      Powerscourt Gardens and House (Enniskerry)
·      Wicklow Mountains National Park (Glendalough Village)
·      Part of Ireland Ancient East
·      The Wicklow Way
·      The Bray to Greystones Cliff Walk (Bray)
·      Glendalough Monastery
·      Powerscourt Waterfall (Enniskerry)
·      Wicklow Gaol (Many were held here prior to transportation to Australia)
·      Military Road (Enniskerry)
·      Blessington Lakes (Wicklow)